EFL Awards 2021: shortlists revealed

The shortlists have been revealed forward of the eagerly anticipated 2021 EFL Awards, happening on Thursday 29 April and broadcast dwell from 7:30pm on Sky Sports activities Football.

The 2021 EFL Awards celebrates and recognises the continued efforts and achievements of Golf equipment, players and people throughout what has been an extremely difficult season for everybody. 

The Sky Bet Championship’s Player of the Season shortlist options two of Norwich City’s promotion-winning side, with Teemu Pukki and Emi Buendia chosen alongside the division’s top goalscorer, Brentford’s Ivan Toney.

Two ever-present players central to Daniel Farke’s entertaining model of football, Pukki’s goals have as soon as once more fired the Club to success as he seems to win this award for a second time after accumulating the prize in 2019, whereas Buendia’s all-round brilliance has captivated supporters throughout the division, particularly these in yellow.

Pukki at the moment sits in second place on the top of the goalscoring charts on 25 goals, while Buendia has 28 goal contributions to his identify, together with a division-high 15 assists.

Standing within the Canaries’ means of claiming the award is a man who has taken the artwork of goalscoring and made it look comparatively easy. After becoming a member of Brentford in the summertime as a substitute for the outgoing Ollie Watkins, Toney has registered a fairly unbelievable 29 goals and 10 assists in his debut Championship season.

In Sky Bet League One, the honour of being named the best player within the division has been whittled all the way down to three players crucial to their sides’ probabilities of promotion to the Championship. Hull City’s George Honeyman has led by instance, changing into one of many best inventive forces in English football, as the Tigers look to finish the season as League One champions following affirmation of their promotion to the Championship on the weekend. 

The top two goalscorers within the division full the shortlist, with Sunderland AFC’s Charlie Wyke and Peterborough United’s Jonson Clarke-Harris having fun with stellar campaigns. Between them they’ve registered 54 league goals so far and shall be eyeing up a number of extra earlier than the season ends.

The shortlist for the League Two Player of the Season options a Cambridge United-double, as Paul Mullin and Wes Hoolahan join Forest Inexperienced Rovers’ Jamille Matt on the list. Mullin’s 29 league goals have catapulted the U’s into title-winning competition, whereas Hoolahan continues to point out that age is just a quantity, turning out constantly influential performances on the tender age of 38 years. 

Rovers’ Jamille Matt has registered 16 goals to this point this marketing campaign along with his side at the moment occupying one of many Play-Off positions.

The EA Sports activities Younger Player of the Season shortlist consists of Blackburn Rovers’ Harvey Elliott, Studying’s Michael Olise and Max Aarons of Norwich City. As sponsor of the award, EA Sports activities shall be internet hosting an internet vote, which fits dwell on Wednesday 28 April, equating to 25% of the general consequence, with the opposite 75% made up of votes from the EFL Awards judging panel.

Nominations had been debated at size by an professional judging panel earlier this month, with votes additionally compiled for the Championship, League One and League Two Teams of the Season which shall be introduced dwell on the night time.  

Different awards to be introduced on the night time embrace the Your Transfer Group Club of the Yr and PFA Player within the Group.

The Sir Tom Finney Award and Contribution to League Football Award, alongside the Screwfix Second of the Season, shall be introduced on the night time, as will the 2021 Mitre Goal of the Season. 

Winners shall be introduced dwell on the EFL Awards on Sky Sports activities Football on Thursday 29 April. 



Sky Bet Championship Player of the Season

Emi Buendia – Norwich City

Teemu Pukki – Norwich City

Ivan Toney – Brentford


Sky Bet League One Player of the Season

Jonson Clarke-Harris – Peterborough United

George Honeyman – Hull City

Charlie Wyke – Sunderland AFC


Sky Bet League Two Player of the Season

Paul Mullin – Cambridge United

Wes Hoolahan – Cambridge United

Jamille Matt – Forest Inexperienced Rovers


EA Sports activities Younger Player of the Season

Harvey Elliot – Blackburn Rovers

Michael Olise – Studying

Max Aarons – Norwich City


LFE Apprentice of the Yr – Championship 

Will Trueman – Sheffield Wednesday

LFE Apprentice of the Yr – League One

Lewis Johnson – MK Dons


LFE Apprentice of the Yr – League Two 

Felix Miles – Cheltenham City


Your Transfer Group Club of the Yr 

Sunderland AFC

Blackburn Rovers

Port Vale


Bristol Rovers



PFA Gamers within the Group 

Will Vaulks – Cardiff City 

Alex Rodman – Bristol Rovers 

Matty Dolan – Newport County 


Sir Tom Finney, Contribution to League Football and Screwfix Second of the Yr Awards

To be introduced on the night time 


2021 Mitre Goal of the Season



Alex Mowatt

Millwall v BARNSLEY

24 October 2020

Frazier Campbell


25 September 2020

Grant Leadbitter

Doncaster Rovers v SUNDERLAND AFC

21 November 2020

Jamal Lowe

Cardiff City v SWANSEA CITY

12 December 2020

Lee Novak

Grimsby City v BRADFORD CITY

22 December 2020


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here